Melbourne Rebels
Melbourne Rebels

The Melbourne Rebels have announced Nic Stirzaker as the club's new captain for the 2016 Super Rugby season.

The Rebels had a co-captaincy model in place last season, with Scott Fuglistaller and Scott Higgonbotham sharing the role.

Nick Farr-Jones has been named vice-captain, while Sean McMahon, Mike Harris, Tamati Ellison, James Hanson and Debreczeni, make up a seven man leadership group.

“Nic has a maturity beyond his years, with the ability to stay calm in high-pressure situations, adapt to constantly changing scenarios and lead from the front,” coach Tony McGahan said of the 24-year-old captain.

“Through the leadership selection process, we’ve been able to establish a group of players that bring different attributes, qualities and experiences.”